Did I Lose on the Board?


This position is taken from the last round of my most recent tournament. It was must win situation for me because of a slightly strange rule that White has to win because a draw would count as a Black win! To decide the colors you just need to toss a coin and unfortunately I got the White pieces.

It was obvious to me that the game is draw so I was just not interested and was moving pieces with my hands!

1. h5??

The two questions marks are because the move was made without any further calculation. Actually it is not blunder but in fact it gives White some practical chances.

1…Kg5

The obvious reply.

2.b4 b6 3.b5 Kxh5

I resigned after 2 further moves.

What was it that I missed?

I missed that after Kxh5? the game is still draw and that careful play is required by Black!!
Amazingly I missed:

4. Kf4 Kg6

The only move because if 4…g6 then 5.f3 is winning and if 4…g5 then Kxf5 is winning for White.

5.Ke5 Kg5

5…h5 can be met by f4 and Black can’t win.

6.Kd6

Now it is Black who needs to be careful to hold the game.

So I was not lost on the board but it was already lost in my mind.

This is a common issue to be addressed for many people including me. After making a mistake very few of us try hard to save the game. The question is not that we can’t save it but before resigning on the board we have already surrendered inside, which might result in multiplying our mistakes. This should not be the case.

After this game I was not able to sleep as this was not the first time this had happened. So I have to work very concretely in order to overcome the problem. Here is a solution which might work for me and you too that is not very hard to do: When you feel that you made a mistake then just don’t react automatically but give yourself some time and look at the board with fresh eyes. Perhaps you might be able to save some games.

Apart from this after White’s accidental h5 🙂 the position becomes a really interesting and dynamic one and worth studying deeply. At first even the engine shows that Black is winning after …Kxh5 but it is far from the truth.

Ashvin Chauhan