Tradewise Gibraltar Chess Festival 2013 – Masters

The event took place on 21-31 January, 2013 where Nikita Vitiugov won the Master’s event by defeating Nigel Short in last round tie-break and became the winner of the £ 20,000 first prize. Main attractions of the tournament were seven players from 2700+ club.

In the first tie-break game, The Russian showed great technique to win the game with almost no time on the clock. In second tense game, Nikita managed to draw to clinch the title. Vachier-Lagrave Maxime who lost against short in knockout match of tie-break got the second place with 8 points while Indian GM Sandipan got the third rank by scoring 8 points but losing in tiebreak against the champion. There was a disappointment for the Ivanchuk who arrived as first seed but finished with 9th rank while Adams Michael, Navara David, Kamsky Gata got 6th, 7th and 8th place respectively. In the women’s section the Chinese GM won the title and prize of £ 12,000.
Here are the tie-break games.

Game 1 :

Game 2 :

Have a look at opening and closing ceremony of the event (Attraction – uncle Nigel Short).

Opening Ceremony :

Closing ceremony :

Uncle Nigel Short :

Ashvin Chauhan